Announcing the TCC Code Innovation Award

Deadline: April 20, 2015

Download the Submission Form

The Transect Codes Council is pleased to announce the TCC Code Innovation Award to be given on a quarterly basis to the zoning code innovation in a proposed or adopted code that advances the art and practice of coding neighborhoods. There is no innovation too small or large to be considered for the Award. The innovation is not required to be in a Transect-based code, but it must be capable of being applied to a Transect-based code.

Nominations are welcome from any public- or private-sector planning professional, agency, firm or non-profit. You may nominate your own work.

The first award will be the Spring 2015 Award, and it will be selected on May 1st in Dallas, Texas, at the 23rd Congress for the New Urbanism by the TCC.

The deadline for submitting an application for the first Award is Monday, April 20, at 6 pm EDT.

If you have any questions about the jury process, award or nomination procedures, please contact Nathan Norris at or Susan Henderson at

Groves Award

The Groves Award for outstanding leadership and vision by a public official in the promotion of Transect-based planning is given jointly by the Transect Codes Council and the Congress for the New Urbanism. The award was created in honor of Ken Groves, the late Planning Director of the City of Montgomery, Alabama. His leadership in using land development and planning to create better communities is a gift that he left for all. Through his vision and persistence, Alabama's capital city began its journey back to prominence and sustainability.

Previous Groves Award Winners
















Smart Growth Manual

Smart Growth Manual